FAA Commercial Space Transportation Conference Audio Files Available


FAA Commercial Space Transportation Conference

The 17th annual FAA Commercial Space Transportation Conference was held last week on February 5th and 6th in Washington. The two day event brought featured a variety of government and private sector speakers.


Below is the schedule of the conference with an MP3 audio file available for download of each of the sessions with the exception of the conference opening remarks, the first keynote by Mr. Bill Gerstenmaier, NASA and Congressman Steven M. Palazzo speech.

All of the audio from this conference will be available shortly on the SpaceRef SpaceTalk podcast available on iTunes.

Complete biographies of the speakers is also available for download (PDF).

Wednesday, February 5, 2014

0800 - 0810 Welcome and Opening Remarks: Dr. George C. Nield, FAA Associate Administrator Office of Commercial Space Transportation

0810 - 0830 NASA/FAA Human Spaceflight Keynote: Mr. Bill Gerstenmaier, NASA Associate Administrator for Human Exploration and Operations

0830 - 0900 Member of Congress: The Honorable Steven M. Palazzo

0900 - 1000 Space Launch and Operations Safety Moderator: Dr. Michael Romanowski, FAA Office of Commercial Space Transportation

- Ms. Audrey Schaffer, Deputy Director, Space Policy Engagement, Office of the Secretary of Defense
- Mr. Ronald Busch, Vice President of Network Engineering, Intelsat
- Ms. Deirdre Healey, Director, Mission Support Division, NASA HQ
- Mr. Daniel Murray, FAA Office of Commercial Space Transportation

1015 - 1045 Legal Regulatory Issues Keynote: Professor Frans von der Dunk, International Space Law Expert, University of Nebraska

1045 - 1115 Space Industry Deep Dive Survey Keynote: Mr. Brad Botwin, Director, Industrial Studies, U.S. Department of Commerce

1115 - 1145 Congressional Staff Perspectives Senate Staffers:

- Ms. Ann Zulkosky, Senior Professional Staff,
- U.S. Senate Commerce Subcommittee on Science and Space
- Mr. Bailey Edwards, Policy Director for Aviation, Science and Space, U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation
- Mr. Tom Hammond, Senior Professional Staff, U.S. Senate Committee on Science, Space and Technology
- House Staffers: Ms. Megan L. Mitchell, Senior Policy Advisor

1315 - 1345 NASA Flight Opportunities Program Keynote: Mr. L. K. Kubendran, Program Executive, NASA Flight Opportunities Program and Mr. Ron Young, Program Manager, NASA Flight Opportunities Program

1345 - 1415 Featured Speaker: The Honorable Michael G. Whitaker, FAA Deputy Administrator

1415 - 1445 Space and Air Traffic Integration Keynote: Mr. Edward L. Bolton Jr., FAA Assistant Administrator for NextGen

1500 - 1600 New Developments in Commercial Cargo and Crew Moderator: Mrs. Pamela Underwood, FAA Office of Commercial Space Transportation

- Mr. Phil McAlister, Director, Commercial Spaceflight, NASA
- Mr. Mark Sirangelo, Corporate Vice President, Sierra Nevada Space Systems
- Mr. Adam Harris, Vice President, Government Sales, SpaceX
- Mr. Bill Claybaugh, Senior Director, Human Space Systems, Orbital Sciences
- Mr. Chris Ferguson, Director, Commercial Crew, Boeing

1600 - 1700 Human Space Flight Safety Moderator: Mr. N. Wayne Hale, Director, Human Spaceflight Programs, Special Aerospace Services

- Mr. Jeffrey Greason, President, XCOR Aerospace
- Dr. Ken Heyer, Deputy Director, Bureau of Economics, Federal Trade Commission
- Mr. Ken Reightler, Professor, U.S. Naval Academy, Astronaut
- Mr. James "Russ" McMurry, Senior Counsel, Boeing Network and Space Systems

Thursday, February 6, 2014

0900 - 0930 Welcome & Opening Remarks
- Mr. George Zamka, FAA Deputy Associate Administrator Office of Commercial Space Transportation
- Captain Ken Ham, USN, Chair, Aerospace Department U.S. Naval Academy, Astronaut

0930 - 1000 COMSTAC Moderator: Mr. Mike Gold, COMSTAC Chair

- Mr. Michael Lopez-Alegria, COMSTAC Vice Chair
- Mr. Russ McMurry, Vice Chair, Business/Legal Working Group
- Ms. Janet Karika, Chair, Operations Working Group
- Mr. Livingston Holder, Chair, Systems Working Group

1000 - 1030 Encouraging Innovation in Space Technology Keynote: Mr. Richard DalBello, Assistant Director, Space and Aeronautics Office of Science and Technology Policy

1030 - 1130 Commercial Human Spaceflight Medical Issues Keynote: Dr. Melchor J. Antuñano, M.D., M.S., Director, Civil Aerospace Medical Institute

1300 - 1330 Center of Excellence for Commercial Space Transportation Keynote: Mr. Ken Davidian, FAA Office of Commercial Space Transportation

1330 - 1530 International Spaceport Development and Readiness Moderator: Mr. Derek Webber, Executive Director, Spaceport Associates

- Mr. Andrew Nelson, Chief Operating Officer, XCOR Aerospace
- Mr. Maurice Adriaens, Director, Curacao Airport Holding
- Mr. Rafael Harillo, Stardust Consulting
- Ms. Karin Nilsdotter, Chief Executive Officer, Spaceport Sweden (Not present)
- Mr. Robert Feierbach, Head, Swiss Space Systems (S3) USA Holdings

1530 - 1545 Closing Remarks: Dr. George C. Nield, FAA Associate Administrator Office of Commercial Space Transportation

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.